really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

53: Loves

What exactly is love? How do you say you love someone when you’ve only been together for 1 year? I think “love” is  a really scary word. It’s really humongous! I love my family, only because we’ve been together for 21 years and counting. I really cannot believe you can actually “love” someone in just 1 year of getting to know each other. Maybe “like” would be a better word. Even for friends of 9 years, I find it hard to reveal some sides of me.

Anyway, enough of this. These are loves. I enjoy baking and cooking at my own leisure. I baked some chocolate wafers (or rather biscuits) yesterday. I wouldn’t call them cookies because they are not meant to have the texture of cookies but rather, they are crisp and crunchy.

They look kind of black here but they ARE NOT burnt, mind you. It’s the colour of the cocoa powder. If I had the money, I would get cocoa powder of higher quality. For now, I’ll make do with Phoon Huat’s cocoa powder. And it could also be because I used brown sugar for this recipe instead of white granulated cane sugar. Brown sugar gives cookies a brown caramel shade to it.

IMG_0783s

IMG_0788s

Recipe for Chocolate Biscuits

Chocolate Wafers:

1 cup (130 grams) all purpose flour

1/2 cup (50 grams) unsweetened Dutch-processed cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons (90 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature

2/3 cup (140 grams) packed light brown sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 large egg white


Instructions

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.

In the bowl of your electric mixer (or with a hand mixer), cream the butter and margarine until well blended. Add the sugars and vanilla extract and beat on high speed for about one minute. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Beat in the egg white. Add the flour mixture and beat just until incorporated.

Place the dough on your work surface and, using your hands, form the dough into a log shape that is about 9 inches (23 cm) long. Carefully wrap the dough in aluminum foil, parchment paper or wax paper and fold or twist the ends. Try not to flatten the log. Refrigerate for at least one hour or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (177 degrees C) and place the oven rack in the center of the oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Using a sharp knife, slice into 1/4 inch thick wafers. Place on the baking sheet spacing about 1 inch (2.5 cm) apart. Bake for approximately 10-12 minutes or until the the cookies puff and the tops of the cookies have crackles (ripples). Remove from oven and let cookies cool on baking sheet for about 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. Can be stored in an airtight container, at room temperature, for about 10 days.

Makes about 36 cookies.

And for dinner, I made a quick and instant meal for myself since nobody was at home. I made my japanese curry rice again, this time with chicken, potato, carrot and mushroom slices. The curry looks a little ‘murky’ here because I added some egg yolk into the curry (from the leftover yolk of the chocolate biscuits recipe). And it was really yummy! I must say that it was the first time I cooked rice on my own. I sound really silly but it is true! And the rice was perfect, it wasn’t soggy wet or hard and dry. It was perfect:)

Leave a Reply

