really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

62: One Step Closer

I’m one step closer to getting this! I just ordered a set of these online and I should be getting it this week (I’m praying it’ll reach me safe and sound and on time).

DSC_0315

I’m one step closer to being able to make a whole baking tray of these.

pooh cutter3

I cooked half my japanese pumpkin today. I cooked lunch for both my sister and I today. For myself, I had japanese pumpkin with cheesy creamy mushroom penne. And since she did not want pumpkin on her pasta, her was cheesy creamy mushroom and prawns penne. My sister commented that the pasta was nice, which was such a rare comment coming from her.

The white sauce (or the cream sauce) for the pasta was prepared from scratch and it was nice. I don’t exactly enjoy my pasta with those bottled pasta sauces sold at supermarkets.

For the pasta (serves 2)

1) Steam the pumpkin (half a wedge, in my case) for around 10-15 minutes. Cut it into bite size chunks.

1) Cook about 120g of  pasta according to the packet instructions (around 8-10 minutes). Drain the pasta and coat it with a teaspoonful of olive oil. Set aside.

2) Heat 1 tbsp of butter in the pan. Add garlic and stir fry for about 1 minute. Throw in the mushrooms (I added the chopped up king oyster mushrooms and enoki mushrooms) and the prawns. Stir fry for around 2-3 minutes.

3) Lower the fire. Pour in milk mixture (125ml of milk and 1/2 egg yolk mixed together) and stir until evenly mixed. Add in 3-4 slices (I added 4 slices) of sliced cheese (I use Kraft’s Singles, the reduced fat ones) and stir to melt the cheese. Stir to mix evenly.

4) Pour the white sauce over the already cooked pasta. Serve.

It’s a really simple way to cook pasta and it was delightful yummy. I was happily eating my pasta until I realised that I forgot to capture a shot of it. Here’s a rather “unsightly” shot of my pasta. At least, the pumpkins were still there on the plate. But the mushrooms and the white sauce weren’t really obvious.

P261009_11.32

But at least, I know it’s YUM:)

Tomorrow’s lunch will be the other wedge of the japanese pumpkin (probably steam pumpkin again). I’m thinking of pumpkin salad, with japanese pumpkin, mushrooms, tomato, baked beans and toasted crispy cubes of bread. How does that sound?

3 responses

  1. Hi there, may I ask where you bought the cookie cutters? I’ve been looking for them for quite some time!

    November 1, 2009 at 9:13 pm

  2. Thanks so much for your reply!
    You’re from Singapore right? How come you bought them online instead of buying them in a store? I thought they are widely available in S’pore.

    November 5, 2009 at 12:20 am

    • iamrina

      Yups I’m from Singapore! I’m kind of busy now with school exams so I don’t have the time to go out shopping for them. Plus, online shopping is really convenient and I thought the price was quite reasonable. Haha:)

      November 5, 2009 at 5:27 am

Leave a Reply

