really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

73: Chickpeas, Cookies and Cha Soba

Triple Cs.

Daddy steamed chickpeas on Saturday and I was happily eating them off the bowl.

P141109_10.19

I love this picture of the chickpeas that I took with my mobile phone camera! Pretty yellow chickpeas 🙂

Chickpeas (also known as Garbanzos beans) are a good source of cholesterol-lowering fiber, as are most other beans. In addition to lowering cholesterol,  their high fiber content prevents blood sugar levels from rising too rapidly after a meal, making these beans an especially good choice for individuals with diabetes, insulin resistance or hypoglycemia. Plus, chickpeas are a good source of folic acid and protein, high in mineral content, good source of calcium and low in fat (of which most of fats are polyunsaturated).  (Source: WHFoods)

Still, I believe you cannot eat too much of these. Eat everything in moderation, ya?

You know, when I frequented the supermarket near my place just the other day, I was surprised to see them stock up on so many Christmas goodies. There were really unique, imported chocolates, cookies and cakes from the US and Europe with really gorgeous packagings. I was wondering then that “Isn’t it too early for Christmas?”. Reality did not strike me until a week later when I realised that we’re just a month away from Christmas. I realised I’ve been living my days without knowing what day/date it is today. It’s the exam syndrome. But I do know the 4 important dates for my 4 different papers.

This was a tin of butter cookies my parents bought from the supermarket yesterday for us to munch on, should we need some food while studying. The tin is so pretty and adorable! I love Paddington Bear:)

P161109_07.47

Here are the butter cookies! When I opened the tin, some cookies were already shattered.

P161109_07.49[01]

Today’s lunch was cha soba. I got tired of eating cha soba with the cold soba dipping sauce. So I decided to stir fry my cha soba today. And yes, it’s vegetarian again (means no meat).

P161109_11.02[01]

P161109_11.02[03]

I stir fried cha soba with baby onions and shredded pumpkin, with some pan fried egg tofu topped with an egg omelette. Hmm, everything seems fried right? But I’ve tried my best to make it as healthy as possible by minimising the amount of oil used and using extra virgin olive oil (EVOO).

Cook the cha soba as directed. Slice the onion and shred the pumpkin. Fry the egg omelette and cut into strips. Shallow fry the egg tofu (sliced into 6-7 slices) with minimal EVOO until lightly browned on both sides. Heat a little EVVO and sesame oil into the pan, add the sliced onions and shredded pumpkin slices and stir-fry for a while (until the aromatic smell of onions and pumpkin fills the whole kitchen. Haha:). Add in the cooked cha soba, add in seasonings as desired ( for me, a little light soy sauce, white/black pepper). Stir fry for a little while. SERVE!

Soba is good for you. It contains buckwheat, read WHFoods. According to Wikipedia, soba scores higher than pasta or bread in terms of essential amino acids (otherwise known as dietary amino acids and your body cannot synthesize them endogeneously). Soba contains a type of polysaccharide that is easily digested and assimilated. Soba noodles also contain rutin, an antioxidant, one of the flavonoids, and choline. Rutin helps to prevent high blood pressure so it reduces risk of heart disease.  Soba also contains many water-soluble vitamins like thiamine/Vitamin B1 (about twice that of polished rice) and riboflavin/Vitamin B2.

And to end off, a cup of nice hot green tea in a green cup. Haha 🙂

P161109_12.43

Leave a Reply

