really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

100: Happy Hundredth!

It is pretty amazing that this is my 100th post on this really random and tiny blog of mine. Happy hundredth! And for the hundredth post, we’re going simple and lazy.

For lunch, I’m back to the good old sandwich. The simple, lazy and easy way out to lunch. And for today’s sandwich, it’s the really basic sandwich with zucchini, tomato, sauteed mushrooms and sliced cheese on toasted wholemeal bread slices. So simple, so good.

And to end the simple lunch, I had my daily juice. I threw a green apple (cut up), a naval orange (cut up too) and a bottle of plain yakult into the blender. I made my usual Colon Guard powder supplement (2 tbsp mixed with some cold water) in a cup. And I poured the blended fruit mixture into it. Here it is!:) Haha and to promote some healthy living and eating, the Health Promotion Board encourages one to eat at least 2 servings of fruits and vegetables a day. And of course, the more the merrier. I think there’s a “Go for 2&5” campaign in Australia and they encourage one to eat 2 servings of fruits and 5 servings of vegetables a day.

And my itchy hands wanted to make a REALLY quick and easy chocolate dessert. I thought I would make it for my sis. Cause’ no more chocolates and sugars for me!

I adapted the recipe from Nigella’s Rocky Road Crunch Bars.

Ingredients

80g Ghiradelli 70% Cacao Dark Chocolate Chips

30g soft unsalted butter

10ml maple syrup (around 2 tsp)

70g of biscuits (I used Munchy’s Oat Krunch Organic Crunchy Hazelnuts & Dark Chocolate biscuits)

Instructions

1) Melt the butter, chocolate and maple syrup in a saucepan.

2) Put the biscuits in a plastic bag/ziploc bag and mash them with your fingers or a spoon. You are aiming for both crumbs and chunks of biscuits.

3) Transfer the biscuits crumbs into the melted mixture and mix to coat evenly.

4) Transfer the mixture in paper cups and refrigerate for at least 2 hours (or half an hour in the freezer compartment). Alternatively, one can follow Nigella’s recipe and tip the mixture into a foil tray and cutting them into fingers after refrigeration.

5) And they are ready to be eaten!

Leave a Reply

