really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

104: “Oat” To Joy!

I’ve been really crazy about oats recently!

Just a week ago, I cooked some dark chocolate oatmeal porridge.

And just a week ago, I bought my first box of Sweet Home Farm granola. It’s the purple box (granola with raisins). And I really love this to bits! But it did not come cheap, a box of this (although it was pretty heavy, 582g) costs SGD9.20. And sis was just complaining that it was expensive but I reminded her that a box of Nestle Koko Krunch (around 300g) was retailing at around SGD5.

Sweet Home Farm claimed that their cereals have no preservatives, artificial flavours, artificial colours or GM ingredients. But I am still a little afraid of purchasing those cereal bars/muesli bars from supermarkets because when I analyse the ingredients list, I will definitely see “Natural Flavour” as one of the ingredients. “Natural Flavour” is still a flavour, an artificial flavour, a chemical.

The ingredients for my Sweet Home Farm Granola with Raisins seem quite promising.

Ingredients: Rolled Oats, Rolled Wheat, Evaporated Cane Juice, Raisins, Milled Rice, Soy Oil, Almonds, Cornstarch, Coconut, Cinnamon, Barley Malt Syrup, Sea Salt, Vegetable Glycerin, Herbs and Spices.

Still, nothing beats homemade granola.

And I was really determined to make my own homemade granola for my breakfast (especially when school starts in mid January). But there are ingredients that I need to get! I needed to get another packet of traditional rolled oats, a packet of wheat germ, a bottle of honey and dried apricots.

You know, when the cat’s away, the mice will play. The parents are out for a class reunion cum countdown party. The sister is out with friends. So, the poor (home alone) elder sister has to do something to entertain herself. There’s the korean drama “Shining Inheritance” to accompany her. But her hands were itching to play in the kitchen.

So she decided to bake a small batch of granola before she officially buys more ingredients to make a larger batch of granola. There was some leftover traditional rolled oats, some honey, raisins, cranberries, flaxseeds, cinammon powder, canola oil, creamy peanut butter and Dalfour unsweetened apricot preserve to play around with. Her neighbours must think she is crazy, to be baking at 9pm. But the lovely smell of her granola baking in the oven will definitely leave them speechless.

And so, this was the homemade granola I made with the ingredients I could find in that kitchen of mine. It smells absolutely intoxicating (the sweet warm smell of cinammon) when it was baking in the oven! Plus, it looks absolutely gorgeous.

This was what I added for my mini batch of homemade granola.

Ingredients

1 cup traditional rolled oats

1/2 cup mixed raisins and cranberries

3-4 tbsp of flaxseeds

1 tsp cinammon powder

a pinch of salt

1/2 tbsp canola oil

1-2 tbsp honey

1 tbsp unsweetened thick apricot preserve

1/2 tbsp creamy peanut butter

Instructions

1)Preheat oven to 160 degree Celsius. Mix rolled oats, fruits, cinammon and salt in a mixing bowl.

2) Mix the wet ingredients (oil, honey, preserve and nut butter) in a bowl. Transfer mixture to dry ingredients in mixing bowl. Mix and coat evenly.

3) Spread the mixture onto a baking paper (lined on the baking tray). Bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes until rolled oats are golden brown. Occasionally, mix the mixture such that it will brown evenly.

4) After baking, leave to cool. The mixture will be sticky initially, but it will dry when cooled. Break up any large chunks if needed when the mixture is still warm. Store in airtight container!

Well, well, nothing beats homemade granola. IT IS WAY WAY HEALTHIER (than those packed boxed commercially sold granola)! I didn’t have enough honey (I used around 1 tbsp). So I added 1 tbsp of unsweetened thick apricot preserve and 1/2 tbsp of creamy peanut butter. The outcome was delicious! There was the faint taste of the nut butter and the apricot preserve. And it was not sweet at all (PERFECT!). I think I must be consuming huge tablespoonfuls of sugar from the Sweet Home Farm granola. I guess I will need to buy more ingredients to make a LARGE batch of granola.

I think homemade granola in a pretty glass bottle makes really lovely gifts for friends and loved ones! Hmm, good idea!

And I’ve only 1 week and 3 days left before the new semester officially starts. 🙂 Sighh.

Leave a Reply

