really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

203: Test Bake – Madeleines Attempt No. 1

I am one crazy amateur baker!

I was watching the last episode (episode 16) of Prosecutor Princess (검사프린세스) and was all sad that the drama series has come to an end. The ending of the drama was really really sweet. Love Ma Hye-ri and Seo In-woo. I’m going to miss 서변 and 마검 😦

Anyway, back to crazy me! I finished episode 16 and was thinking of what to watch next when I have this crazy crazy idea to test bake madeleines. I know Daddy was going to leave at around 3pm (Daddy’s on leave for 2 weeks!) to pick Mummy up from her invigilation work and they’ll be going out for some therapy thingy. So they’ll only be back by4 plus so I decided to bake madeleines! I bought new silicone madeleine moulds and a silicone spatula from Daiso just the other day because I was planning to bake madeleines for the upcoming potluck in June.

So off I went on my crazy baking attempt. It was just really impromptu! I wasn’t sure if I had all the ingredients at home too. But well, I found all except for oranges! It’s really frustrating because for almost 365 days of a year, I was pretty sure there were oranges at home. Daddy usually buys oranges in bags of 40. But today, oranges were nowhere to be found. No lemons either. So I had no choice but to settle with baking some simple madeleines with just my trusty pure vanilla extract.

Test bake is a time for me to make ALL the baking errors/mistakes before I actually correct those mistakes and bake a proper batch of cookies/cakes/pastries for my friends and family. So I was determined to just go bare minimal.I was lazy to get the electric whisk from the store (and was lazy to wash/ clean up yet another piece of baking equipment) so I resorted to using the handwhisk (for mixing the eggs and the sugar). And the recipe called for making beurre noisette in a pan on a stove but I microwaved the butter in intervals of 20-30 seconds until the butter was adequately brown and there was this lovely nutty fragrance. And I do know that chilling the madeleine batter for at least 3 hours beforehand helps it develop the lovely hump. But there wasn’t much time so I was not expecting humps from this batch of madeleines (but surprisingly I had the “humps”!).

Yes, the madeleines turned out delightful, way too beautiful. I thought they were “goners” and that they were going to flop since I took so many shortcuts and lazy ways out. But they were NOT! Beautiful madeleines at my first attempt, I’m really proud of my little humble first attempt.

Love the humps and the browning on the top of the madeleines. But because I was using silicone moulds, the bottom of the madeleines were not adequately brown (as the heat doesn’t travel as well as through silicone than in metal moulds). They look pretty on the outside. What about the taste? I felt something was definitely missing and I know it’s the orange/lemon zest! Right now, they are quite lovely too, love the buttery and eggy taste (with faint vanilla), the browned outside is crisp but the inside is dense and moist. Lovely:) Just that next time round, I need my ORANGE ZEST OR LEMON ZEST!

Anyway, here’s the recipe I used! The original one, minus the shortcuts! I got it from this lovely website/blog Dodol & Mochi. Love oogling at all the lovely creations from Dodol & Mochi and I am always tempted to start baking!

Madeleines à l’Orange et au Beurre Noisette, or Orange-Browned Butter Madeleines (adapted from Pâtisserie Lerch, in Dorie Greenspan’s Paris Sweets)

Makes 12 large or 36 small madeleines100g butter, to be turned into 70g beurre noisette–we only need 70g

(A)
105g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder

(B)
2 large eggs, at room temperature
100g sugar (I may reduce it to 80-85g in the future)

(C)
finely grated zest of 1 orange
2 tsp vanilla
1) For the beurre noisette: melt the butter in a heavy-bottomed saucepan over medium-low heat till it’s completely melted, swirl the pan occasionally as you heat it. You’ll see that as you keep heating it, the milk solids will be separated from the butterfat and sink to the bottom. With the continuous heating, the milk solids at the bottom of the saucepan will begin to brown and thus, giving you the unique nutty flavor of beurre noisette. Towards the later part of the cooking process, allow the melted butter to bubble away till it turns deep brown in color and has a hint of nutty smell.

2) Then, immediately remove the saucepan from the heat; pour the beurre noisette over and let it run through a metal strainer to remove the solids–we only want the butterfat. Set it aside in a bowl to let cool completely before using

3) Grease and flour your madeleine molds–you can skip this step if you’re using silicone ones, then send to chill in the freezer till use later.

4) Measure out 70g from the cooled beurre noisette and set aside. On the other hand, combine (A) together and sift once; set aside.

5) Mix (B) together till thickened and pale in color, followed by folding in (C) till combined

6) Sift in the dry ingredients to the wet mixture and fold gently till incorporated. Lastly, fold in the beurre noisette gently till just blended–DON’T overmix by folding the batter too much as you may risk deflating the air!

7) Cover the bowl of batter with a sheet of plastic film and chill in the refrigerator for at least three hours, or overnight.

8) When you’re ready to bake, take the prepared molds out the freezer and fill each cavity with the chilled batter till 2/3 full; repeat till the batter is used up

9) Bake at 200C for 11-13 minutes if you’re making large ones while 8-10 minutes for small ones–OR till they’re puffed, golden in color and their surface springs back when gently touched. (I baked mine for around 12 minutes)

10) Remove madeleines from the oven and unmold to cool them on cooling racks immediately. Serve them either slightly warm or at room temperature–well, both are nice anyway! (I like them warm, perfect with cold fresh milk or hot tea!)

Yes, I’m the crazy amateur baker! With such success in my first attempt, I’m going to improve on this and bake more batches of these lovely goodies! First up will be the potluck in June, which I will be attempting madeleines for one of the desserts and mini pita pizzas for one of the mains/sides. Yay 🙂

Edit: Baked another batch of madeleines on Saturday (22/05) and the family liked them, especially Daddy and the cousin! Yays! Here’s to more madeleines but first, I need some lemon/orange zest!

Leave a Reply

