really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

213: Fluffy Pancakes!

I succeeded in my first attempt at making pancakes! NO PANCAKE PRE-MIX!!!

YES FLUFFY FLUFFY PANCAKES! And they smell, taste and feel (texture) like Mcdonald’s hotcakes! Okay, I’m biased. SO MUCH BETTER because they are homemade and without all the chemical preservatives added and the artificial flavours that McD adds into their pancakes! Most importantly, they are made with love!

I believe that if you put in effort and love into making your food, they will turn out great and yummy. Right?

Anyway, here’s my fluffy pancakes! Pardon the strange artistic/abstract (?) design while drizzling the maple syrup onto the pancakes! I’m still an amateur. I had two fluffy pancakes with a little butter, maple syrup and three pitted prunes.

The pancakes were just so damn good. I believe that beating the egg whites separately until you get soft peaks is the KEY REASON why I got my fluffy pancakes. There were recipes which ask you to beat the eggs (yolks and whites) together but you wouldn’t be able to get your pancakes fluffy. So it’s really important to beat the egg whites until soft peaks appear to incorporate all the air into the batter!

Here’s the godsend RECIPE for fluffy pancakes!

Makes about 8 medium-sized pancakes.

1 cup all-purpose plain flour

1 tsp baking powder

a pinch of salt

1 cup fresh milk

1 egg, separated

2 tsps caster sugar

1 tbsp canola/sunflower/olive oil
directions :

1. combine flour, baking powder & salt in a bowl and mix really well.

2. in another bowl, whisk together egg yolk, sugar and milk followed by oil. mix well and add it into the flour mixture and whisk to combine.

3. whisk egg white until soft peaks appear, then fold into the above mixture. Be careful not to over-fold the egg whites into the mixture. The idea is that you want to avoid losing as much air (from the beaten egg whites) as possible. I refrigerated the batter for about 3 hours (I think half an hour is also possible) so that the batter wouldn’t spread too much when on the pan later.

4. heat non-stick frying pan on medium low heat then scoop batter, about 1 ladleful onto the pan. cook until bubbles appear evenly on the surface, flip it over and cook until golden.

5. Serve with maple syrup, butter, whipped cream, yoghurt or fresh fruits (kiwi, strawberries, blueberries, mango, oranges etc)! Enjoy your lovely fluffy pancakes!

I’ve refrigerated the remaining batter in an air-tight container. I’m going to have some more of my fluffy pancakes for breakfast tomorrow! Sis loves pancakes too (she loves pancakes more than I do). Yays!

Leave a Reply

