really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

242: Oreo and Yoghurt Baby Cheesecakes!

After weeks of store-bought sweets, goodies and junk, I’m back to some workouts in the kitchen with this really new yummy recipe I found online. I was craving for some velvety smooth cheesecake! I literally melted when I saw this recipe from Quickies on the Dinner Table – Oreo and Yogurt Baby Cheesecakes. They looked so yummy and the best part was that the recipe was short and simple!

Bought cream cheese, plain yoghurt and Oreos and embarked on my first attempt of this recipe!

And my babies turned out so cute and pretty! They taste exceptionally good too! Love the slight tart-ness from the plain yoghurt and the velvety smooth texture of the cheesecake! And it’s terrific because it’s NOT SWEET (I like!). This recipe is so simple and it’s A KEEPER! A note to myself the next time round is to get another plain yoghurt (I got Marigold this time round and I think it isn’t as sour as I wanted it to be). I’m going to bring a few to work on Monday to share with my “co-workers”! I’m hoping they’ll like them too!

OREO AND YOGHURT BABY CHEESECAKES

(Recipe from Quickies on the Dinner Table)

Prep 10 mins        Cook 20 mins        Makes 10 small muffin sized cheesecakes

1 roll (14 cookies) Oreos
250 g (1 tub or block) Philadelphia cream cheese (use whatever soft, fresh cheese you prefer)
100 ml (1/2 cup) plain unsweetened full fat yoghurt
70 g (1/2 cup) fine sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 level Tbsp cornflour (cornstarch)

Preheat oven at 160 C (300 F)  and line a 12-cup muffin tray with 10 muffin liners or mini panettone liners (if you prefer straight as opposed to crimped sides). Put an Oreo cookie into each liner. Break remaining cookies into neat quarters and set pieces aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the cheese, yoghurt, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Whisk together lightly, until just combined and an even colour. Sift over the cornflour and gently fold in with the whisk.

Put about 3 generous tablespoons of the cheese mixture over each of the cookies in the 10 liners. Top each one with a quarter piece of cookie previously set aside. Gently push the cookie piece into the batter until flush with the surface of the batter.

Bake for 20 minutes, then turn off oven. Open oven door slightly and leave ajar. Leave cheesecakes in oven for 30 minutes or until they look set but wobble just a little in the middle when shaken gently. Remove from oven and cool for about 20 minutes on the counter before chilling them until cold. This will take about 2 hours.

Carefully peel off paper liners and serve.  I think they are rich enough to stand alone but if you want to get a bit fancy or like your deserts really indulgent, they are quite heavenly with a swirl or dollop of whipped cream.

3 responses

  1. Tes

    Wowwww it looks so beautiful!
    What an indulging recipe!
    I must try this 🙂
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

    July 17, 2010 at 10:32 pm

  2. Kristen

    Those look waaaaay better than the ones I tried to make, good job! I love your blog! 🙂

    June 7, 2011 at 10:00 am

    • iamrina

      Hello! Ooh.. continue trying! I’m sure yours will turn out lovely as well! Hehe Thank you so much! I am humbled 🙂

      June 7, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

