really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

274: Matcha Ice-Cream

I finally bought my small bottle of matcha (green tea powder)! I’ve been looking for matcha at the supermarkets near my place. Went down to Meidiya once and the matcha they were selling were really expensive so I didn’t get them! The only place I know that sells matcha near my place is Fairprice Finest. But the matcha were going to expire in 2 months’ time so I didn’t get them! This time round, they got newer stock! So I grabbed one bottle!

I’ve been dreaming of making matcha ice-cream for ages! So I bought the necessary ingredients to make my ice-cream!

As I didn’t have an ice-cream maker, I had to freeze-and-whisk the frozen mixture manually repeatedly a few times. As I had a 3 hour lesson/test in school yesterday afternoon, during this 3-5 hours (journey to and from school included), I couldn’t whisk the mixture. So by the time I reached home, there were many tiny ice crystals. I attempted to whisk the mixture with the electric whisk and they looked promising. The mixture was a lot smoother. But this morning, when I went to check on my ice-cream, I was a little disappointed that the ice-cream wasn’t as smooth as I had expected. The last time when I made the chocolate ice-cream, the ice-cream was a lot smoother and creamier. Perhaps, it had to do with the chemistry of ice-cream and the large amounts of chocolates (think cocoa butter and fats and oil) I added into the ice-cream. The green tea ice-cream was lovely, the matcha taste was there! But it was a little ‘icy’! 😦 Disappointing! Anyway, at this point of time, I really want to own an ice-cream maker! Then, I will be able to eat my creamy, smooth, fluffy ice-cream! Alright, maybe for my birthday then.

The recipe I used was from “The Perfect Scoop” by David Lebovitz that I had borrowed from the community library. The recipe is a good one! A recipe I would keep for life BUT I just need to perfect the texture of the ice-cream! An ice-cream maker will be lovely.

Green Tea Ice-Cream

from The Perfect Scoop: Ice Creams, Sorbets, Granitas, and Sweet Accompaniments
Makes 1 quart

The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

This ice cream is a real winner. It’s a favorite of many of us here at Leite’s Culinaria. Author and food writer David Lebovitz says the green-tea powder, called matcha, has a slightly pungent yet powerful taste, but its color is the real showstopper. It’s a lovely pistachio green. Lebovitz suggests frothing the tea well, as it turn the custard a vivid green color.

Adds Lebovitz: “Matcha is found in tea shops and stores that sell Japanese products, which I’m always looking for an excuse to visit, since they’re great places for poking around.”—David Lebovitz

Ingredients
1 cup whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
2 cups heavy cream
4 teaspoons matcha (green tea powder) –> I used 5 tsbp!
6 large egg yolks

Directions
1. Warm the milk, sugar, and salt in a medium saucepan. Pour the cream into a large bowl and whisk in the matcha. Set a mesh strainer on top.

2. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly pour the warm mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

3. Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula.

4. Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream, then whisk it vigorously until the custard is frothy to dissolve the matcha. Stir over an ice bath until cool.

5. Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Recipe © 2007 by David Lebovitz.. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

