really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

277: Matcha Sablés

Baked these lovely green gems just now! I’m trying everything ‘matcha’ ever since I got that small tin of matcha powder. Anyway, my matcha sables don’t look as pretty as those photographed in those really nice food blogs. But they are quite lovely. Just that I wished I added more matcha powder as the matcha taste wasn’t as strong as I hoped for it to be.

Packed some in nice pretty wrapping to be gifted away to two of my uni friends tomorrow to thank them for surviving this crazy semester with me and also the common module the three of us are taking (yes, we bravely took the plunge when everyone around us were probably thinking how silly we were).

Recipe is from Okashi by Keiko Ishida. I wanted to get this book but it’s quite costly at $30++ the last I saw at Popular bookstore. Hmm, so many things I want. Too many wants! But I think an ice-cream maker is on the top most of my ‘wants’ list!

Ingredients :

240g cake flour, chilled

15g macha green tea powder

150g unsalted butter, room temp

130g icing sugar

pinch of salt

2 egg yolks

granulated sugar, for coating

1 egg white

green tea leaves or powder for decor, optional
Directions :

1. sift flour and macha powder together twice. set aside.

2. beat butter, icing sugar and salt together until soft & creamy. add egg yolks and mix well. add flour & macha powder mixture and fold in with spatula. transfer dough to cling wrap and chill for 15 mins.

3. divide dough in two portions and shape into logs about 3.5cm in diameter. refrigerate until firm then slice into 7mm thick rounds.

4. coat sides with sugar and brush the top with egg white and top with leaves or powder, if using. place rounds at least 1/2 inch apart from each other on baking sheet lined with baking paper and bake in a preheated oven of 150C for 25 mins. leave to cool completely before storing in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

