really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

304: Marble Butter Cake

I haven’t found the time to bake or cook or dine out recently and hence, the lack of food posts on this blog. I’m back! But a new school semester has started and the last for me before I graduate! And I was offered a job after graduation (although it’s more like training before I can officially get my license to practise). While my friends from other faculties and majors are fretting over job applications (or even applications for further studies), I’m glad that we are in demand and that small an industry that I needn’t fret about what to do next after graduation (since my route is kind of planned out for me). Although the remuneration during the months of training after graduation is not that great an amount, I think I’ll be happy since I’m not one who works for money.

Anyway, I baked again! My first ever successful ‘pound’ (butter) cake! I’ve ABSOLUTELY no idea why I wanted to bake a marble butter cake! I just had the cravings for the soft, moist, buttery cake. And after seeing some food blogs with marble cake recipes online and images of (that oh so delicious) cake, I wanted to bake one!

My marble butter cake is oh so beautiful, don’t you think? The smell of it as it was baking in the oven was quite a lovely one too!

Love the swirls on the cake (before the batter was sent to the oven). Reminds me of latte art, although this is quite a messy one. But the messier, the more adorable it gets!

And it’s browned perfectly! And split perfectly at the centre, just like a pound cake should be!

Gorgeous, buttery moist soft texture! I love my marble butter cake! This recipe is a keeper! Perfect with a cup of tea or horlicks or fresh milk!

I got the recipe from A Malaysian Cake Decorator’s Club Forum: here.

Marble Butter Cake
Makes 1 loaf of approx. 22 x 12 cm

Ingredients:
175g butter
160g castor sugar
3 eggs, lightly beaten
150g cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
100ml milk
25g cocoa powder, sifted


Method:

1. Preheat oven at 180 degC. Line a loaf cake tin with greaseproof paper
2. Sift flour and baking powder into a mixing bowl. Set aside.
3. Combine butter and castor sugar in a mixing bowl. Using paddle of your mixer, cream until light and fluffy. Scrape the bowl periodically for well mixing.
4. Add eggs gradually, beating well after each addition.
5. Pour in milk. Mix well. Fold in flour mixture in (2) and mix until batter is smooth.
6. Divide the mixture into 2. Add cocoa powder  to one of the portions.
7. Drop large spoonfuls of each of the mixtures alternately into the prepared cake tin. Drag a skewer through the mixture to create a marbled efect.
8. Bake at 180 degC for 40 minutes or until skewer inserted into the centre of cake comes out clean.

Notes:
1. Make sure butter and eggs are at room temperature.
2. Scrape bowl periodically to ensure all ingredients are well mixed.
3. To prevent curdling, mixer must be at low speed when eggs are added.

Leave a Reply

