really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

319: Earl Grey Tea Ice Cream

Once you get the hang of making ice-cream, everything is a breeze. If you grasp the basics of making the custard, everything is a breeze. The problem comes in when you are trying to modify the flavour or the taste of the ice cream. You need to ensure that the heaviness of the cream and the milk does not overpower the flavour of the ice-cream.

I think making ice cream is all about experimentation. The recipe book can tell you this amount but you need to modify the ice cream to your own taste and liking. More often, I find the trusty recipes from my ice-cream recipe books too sweet for my liking so I would bravely half (or even 1/3) the amount of sugar used. And as for the “flavours”, they may specify a specific weight or amount of ingredients needed (e.g. 1 vanilla pod, 2 tbsp of matcha powder, 2 tbsp of pure vanilla extract, 5 Earl Grey tea bags) but often, I find myself needing more than the specified amounts. There are obviously variations in the quality of ingredients used and I would prefer my ice cream with a deeper and more intense flavour, hence I would often increase the amount needed.

I love earl grey tea, for its citrusy bergamot flavours. I love bringing a mini thermo flask of hot earl grey tea to school on cold days or when I have lessons in extremely wintery (and humanely impossible to endure lectures in it without a trusty cardigan)  lecture halls. And so I decided to embark on making the earl grey tea ice cream at the request of the younger sister and the mum. (That reminds me that I haven’t tried the Earl Grey and Fig ice cream from Cedele!)

This is the beautiful cocoa coloured Earl Grey Tea ice cream after churning and freezing in the freezer compartment for about an hour. It’s a little messy because I just plunked the freshly churned ice cream into the container without attempting to smoothen the top. But well, in my opinion, it looks messily beautiful.

The ice cream was really good, the earl grey tea taste was there. And there was a lovely citrusy aftertaste that lingered on in my mouth even after tasting the ice cream.

This time round, I modifed the Earl Grey Tea ice cream recipe I found online from here. I increased the number of tea bags used and decreased the amount of sugar. In addition, I threw in a handful of chopped toasted almonds since the family loves nuts. And I decided to make a small batch to yield about 500ml of ice cream.

Earl Grey Tea Ice Cream
makes about 500ml

2/3 cup whole milk
1 and 1/3 cup of heavy cream (or whipping cream)
1/4 cup sugar
7 Earl Grey tea bags
3 egg yolks

  • Warm the milk, half and half, and sugar in a saucepan. Remove from heat, place tea bags in the pan, cover and steep at room temperature for an hour. Remove tea bags.
  • Rewarm tea-infused milk. Whisk egg yolks together in a separate bowl. Slowly pour the milk mixture into the bowl with egg yolks, whisking constantly.
  • Return the milk and egg mixture to the saucepan, and cook over medium heat, stirring and scrapping the bottom of the pan constantly until the mixture thickens to a custard and coats the spatula.
  • Cool the mixture, and freeze in your ice cream maker (NOTE: I added a handful of chopped baked/toasted almonds into the ice cream maker while it was churning too.)
Leave a Reply

