really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

347: Craisin Scones

I’m scones crazy! My attempts at baking the scones the past year(s) or so haven’t been really successful. Haven’t attempted many recipes but they all fall short of my ‘ideal’ scone. So I resorted to satisfying my scones cravings with store bought scones from the local bakeries (like Oishii Bakery or Four Leaves) and Cedele. I’ve thrown out flat scones, scones that taste disgustingly flour-y/dough-y and just weird scones.

I decided to try this recipe by Gregoire Michaud because the scones are so beautifully tall and they look just like my ‘ideal’ scone. I’m so glad I haven’t given up on my search for the perfect scones recipe or in trying to perfect my scones making/baking skills. I’ll just need to perfect the way I cut out the scones to get those perfect round scones!

My scones were not as beautifully tall (with those lovely caps!) or pretty or perfectly round just like those featured in the blog of Gregoire Michaud but they smell and taste absolutely wonderful! I’m not kidding! The scones still smell so lovely 7 hours after baking them, in the container I’ve stored them in. I can’t help just lifting off the lid to take in a few whiffs of the lovely fragrances of the scones while studying.

Scones Recipe from Gregoire Michaud

Ingredients

  • 500g       flour
  • 95g          sugar
  • 25g          baking powder
  • 125g        butter
  • 2               eggs
  • 100ml     milk (or cream if you dare!) —> I added cream because I’m brave! Haha! (:
  • 60g           sultanas (optional) –> I added a mixture of cranberries and sultanas/raisins!

Method

  • Mix the flour, sugar and baking powder together with the butter until it resembles a crumble mixture
  • Add the eggs and milk (and the sultanas last if required and mix in quickly)
  • Leave the dough to rest for 10 minutes, then roll out to about 15mm high
  • Cut into rounds and brush egg over the tops
  • Bake at 200°C for approximately 20 minutes, until nicely golden brown

And NOW, I cannot wait for my breakfast tomorow. It’s scones for breakfast on Wednesday (and possibly, Thursday and Friday too)! Warm scones with orange preserve! I love 🙂

2 responses

  1. Hi Rina,

    Thanks a lot for taking the time in baking the scones = and I am glad they are to your taste 🙂

    Here is a little trick to obtain the perfect shape, try rolling the dough to the desired thickness and place it in the fridge, let it chill for 1 or 2 hours so the dough is firm. Then, you’ll be able to cut straight pieces of dough!
    Happy baking 🙂
    Gregoire

    April 19, 2011 at 10:43 pm

  2. iamrina

    Hi Gregoire,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my humble blog! I am truly honoured. Thanks for the trick on how to get the perfect scones shape! I’ll definitely try it the next time I attempt some scones again! The scones are delicious, by the way!

    THANK YOU SO MUCH 🙂

    Rgds
    Rina

    April 19, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

