really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

388: Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Another very random and impromptu baking attempt. This Sunday morning, I woke up and my head was full of things I have planned to do (study and all). I decided that I wanted to bake something but I had no idea what to bake. I thought of the cream cheese frosting going in concentric circles around the top of a cupcake. I searched foodgawker and decided to bake some chocolate cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.

It’s my first attempting making cupcakes. Seriously. I’ve always been baking muffins. Muffins are like the denser versions of cupcakes. For today, I prefer things light. So cupcakes it shall be. And I wanted a simple cream cheese frosting to beautify the little chocolatey babies. And they were really awesome.

This recipe is so simple. It’s called the “One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes” by Martha Stewart, only because you just need one bowl to mix all your ingredients in. It’s that simple. But the cupcakes were awesome, they were really light and moist and chocolatey. I really love this recipe!

I had a tiny tiny problem because I have no buttermilk at home. And buttermilk helps make your baked goods like cakes tender and moist. So I learnt that you can ‘make’ buttermilk by just adding 1 tbsp of lemon juice (something acidic) to 1 cup of milk and allowing it to sit for 5-10 minutes. And voila! I’ve some really tender and moist cupcakes! And the best part is that you don’t need butter in these cupcakes, you just need a little oil. I used canola oil so it’s much healthier!

And the cream cheese frosting was just random and very easy too. It’s a little ugly and amateurish now because it’s only my first time frosting cupcakes! I blended around 60g of cream cheese, 1/3 cup of icing sugar and 5 grams of unsalted butter and whipped until light (about 1 minute). And then transferred into a piping bag (I used my super awesome whipped cream dispenser with many different patterned tips from Daiso. It’s so useful and it’s only $2!) and piped the frosting onto the cupcakes when the cupcakes are cool. I love the dispenser! I shall experiment with the different tips the next time round!

Just a note that I halved the original recipe so the amounts for the cream cheese frosting in the above paragraph apply for the ‘halved’ recipe.

Anyway, here’s the adapted One-Bowl Cupcakes recipe from Martha Stewart.

Makes 18 to 24 cupcakes

Ingredients

* 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
* 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 1/2 cups sugar
* 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
* 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon salt
* 2 large eggs
* 3/4 cup warm water
* 3/4 cup buttermilk
* 3 tablespoons canola oil
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

1.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners; set aside. Sift together cocoa powder, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into a large bowl. Add eggs, warm water, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla, and mix until smooth, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides and bottom of bowl to assure batter is well mixed.
2.

Divide batter evenly among muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full. Bake until tops spring back when touched, about 20 minutes, rotating pan once if needed. Transfer to a wire rack; let cool completely.

Leave a Reply

