really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

474: Reminiscence! (:

Something joyous for tonight! I’m always overwhelmed with nostalgia whenever I hear this song being played. It’s such a fun song to sing along to! Why nostalgia? I remember only glimpses of my childhood days. It’s funny how your brain chooses to remember only certain things. Otherwise, everything else’s just FUZZY! I remember listening to this song on the radio (I think it was Class 95 FM then) on the way to childcare in the morning. So strange, I was 5 or 6 then and I remember this song up until today because I remembered it was played every other day in the morning.

More on my memories since it’s so rare that I’m talking about them. I’ve realised that childcare centres have a distinctive smell. When I pass by childcare centres at the void decks of the HDB flats, I’m reminded of my days back then. I don’t exactly know what smell it is but it’s just SO characteristic. I remember picking up my younger cousins from childcare years ago and it’s that ‘smell’ every time round. And I kind of like it. Childcare days were interesting. I remembered that my best friend in childcare was a girl called Aretha, I’ve no idea how she looks like now but I remembered she had big eyes. Otherwise, I have no recollection of any of my other friends in childcare. But I do remember that there was a mean bossy girl then who made everyone else her minions. She would often pretend to sing karaoke and she always had the ‘lead’ singing role while the rest of us would have to be her sidekicks. I remembered that I was often punished back in childcare because I was caught awake when we were supposed to sleep in the afternoon. My teacher then punished me by making me stand against the wall while the other kids sleep. Haha! And I remembered that we had this performance we have to put up at the end of the year and we were doing a chinese story and I was the porcupine! I remembered that my costume was just this apron-like huge mahjong paper and there were many twigs stuck to it.

After that were just vague memories of my lower primary days when I was still staying in Jurong. I remember having to wake up at 545am everyday for the school bus and then, the sky was all dark. In fact, the most memorable memories of my lower primary school days were when I took the school bus. Back then, there were many school buses – the bigger coach-like ones and the mini van kinds. The school bus I took was the smallest bus/mini bus of them all. I remember that it was white with purple strips and we would often queue up in the designated queue area after classes for the school bus to pick us up and we were always the shortest queue of them all because we were the smallest group. I still remember the school bus uncle! We would ALWAYS be begging him to drop us off at this “mamashop” (aka provision shop) that one of our school bus friend’s parents operate. And then, we would ALWAYS be begging the school bus uncle to treat us to ice-cream. I don’t think the ice-cream still exists today, with all the fancy newer ones out now. It was this yam ice-cream between two thin wafers and it costs about 60 cents then. And the school bus uncle was really really nice because I remember that he was ALWAYS buying ice-cream for us, possibly at least once a week! And my parents were really strict with me then mainly since I was young, I was a very sick kid – practically always sick cause’ my lungs were pretty weak. And I don’t drink cold soft drinks or eat oranges or eat any form of chips then, ABSOLUTELY nothing. So when we do drop off at the mamashop, I would take the opportunity to buy sweets! Haha I remember I was always getting the childhood biscuits, the Ding Dang and Tora chocolates and the Bobdog coca-cola sweets! And hiding them all away from my parents! OMG Soooo nostalgic!

And I clearly remember this really naughty boy who was also one of my school bus ‘friends’. I think he was in P4 (when I was in P2 or P3) and he would often bully or tease us. Then I remembered that it was CNY and we could wear home clothes to school. I remember I wore this green Garfield polo tee and a denim skirt and the first nice thing I’ve ever heard from him (at 545am when I boarded the school bus!) was that he complimented that I looked nice that day. It was surprisingly a very mature comment from a very mischievous and childish boy I’ve known all this while. And YES, I could remember this up until today. And of course, more adventures on the school bus! That was the first time I experienced an accident when a huge pickup crashed into our school bus. I was fortunate enough but some of my friends got cuts by the glass windows that shattered. I kept insisting that I was fine when the adults asked how I was. But I realised that I was very traumatized by the incident then. And because of that, the school bus uncle got scolded by the school (and the evil discipline mistress) and he was ‘suspended’ from driving the school bus for a while. I remember being quite sad that he was gone but when he returned weeks later, we were all so happy! Because that probably meant more free ice-cream!

Oh my, I realised that I’ve typed a whole chunk of my strange silly memories. Probably incoherent! It’s funny because I suddenly thought about my childhood days!

Hmm, I’m still surviving. Sometimes, people may irritate you but I’m peace loving. I choose the easy way out, I choose to ignore, I choose to tolerate. Be glad that my tolerance level is pretty high, haha! Life may be a tiny bit hard sometimes but well, we just got to know that we will get through it! So many things are happening in my life right now, there’s the upcoming viva and the never-ending amount of readings and discussions. The people around me seemed quite stressed over the upcoming viva but well well well, I know I can do this. I won’t be affected by anything or anyone, I’ll just do everything at my own pace and just do my best! POSITIVE THINKING, RINA! (:

Alrights! I shall end out with one of my favourite Beatles’ songs “Let It Be”.

And when the night is cloudy
There is still a light that shines on me
Shine on until tomorrow, let it be

When I find myself in times of trouble
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

And in my hour of darkness
She is standing right in front of me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

Let it be, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom
Let it be

And when the brokenhearted people
Living in the world agree
There will be an answer, let it be

For though they may be parted
There is still a chance that they will see
There will be an answer, let it be

Let it be, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Yeah, there will be an answer let it be
Let it be, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom
Let it be

Let it be, let it be
Let it be, yeah, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom
Let it be

And when the night is cloudy
There is still a light that shines on me
Shine on until tomorrow, let it be

I wake up to the sound of music
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

Yeah, let it be, let it be
Let it be, yeah, let it be
There will be an answer, let it be

Let it be, let it be
Let it be, yeah, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom
Let it be

Hmm, it’s Wednesday already. Time to rest my brain and “tomorrow” will be a better day! It’s mid-week. I’m a day closer to the weekends (and that means Saturday). And a very very simple reason to look forward to is keeping me going strong this week! It’s funny this feeling. Go Rina Go! (:

Leave a Reply

