really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

519: Spiced Pumpkin Patty sandwich!

I love the vegetarian burgers at Cedele! Especially my favourite beetroot avocado burger! I never liked beetroot because Daddy used to make raw beetroot juice that tasted like soil (ewwwww!). But the beetroot patty was omg just so heavenly! It’s the wonderful Indian spices that go into the burger. Love indian food (:

So today, on impulse, I decided to make a pumpkin patty with the leftover pumpkin in the fridge. I’ve been on a sandwich craze lately, bringing sandwich for lunch to work everyday. Pumpkin patty just sounds so good (and vegetarian)!

It smells really good now. Made four patties and one will be for my lunch tomorrow. One will be for Mummy’s sandwich tomorrow. And the other two will be frozen and stored for my lunch on Tuesday.

I’ve no proper recipe. But here’s what I did.

I steamed the pumpkin (about 400g) and chickpeas (greater proportion of pumpkin to chickpeas) and mashed them. I toasted a slice of wholemeal bread to get breadcrumbs. After the bread is well-toasted, I chopped and mashed the bread into fine crumbs. Into a bowl, I added in the fine toasted bread crumbs, a bit of chopped fresh onions, 1/2 – 1 tsp of ground cinammon, 1/2 tsp of ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, about 1 tbsp of dried parsley, 1/2 tsp of salt and pepper each, 1/2 tsp of manuka honey, 1/2 tsp of peanut butter and 1/2 tsp of canola oil. Mix them really well.

Add the mixture in the bowl to the mashed steamed pumpkin and chickpeas and mix well. Then add about 1/3 cup of plain flour and mix well. Shape into patties. Pan-fry on medium heat, about 3-4 minutes on each side until golden brown.

Serve with bread or burger bun or panini bread or ciabatta. The options are unlimited! You can add in cheese, tomato, cucumber, lettuce, avocado…

Mine was just a simple mediterranean panini sandwich with the spiced pumpkin patty and cheese slices with cucumber! So looking forward to my lunch tomorrow(:

Here’s the pumpkin “mash” before shaping into patties!

20111204-190112.jpg

Pan-frying the patties until golden brown on each side!

20111204-190129.jpg

Tah-dah! My lovely VEGETARIAN sandwich! So proud of it (:

20111204-190141.jpg

Leave a Reply

