really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

633: Tiong Bahru Bakery – treat for the senses

It’s been long since I’ve blogged about new food places. Many new food joints have sprouted around Singapore. In particular, artisan bakeries! We have Paul Bakery, Maison Kayser, Tiong Bahru Bakery and lately, Paris Baguette.

I was so moved by the simple croissant at Tiong Bahru Bakery that I felt the need to blog about it. Tiong Bahru Bakery sounds like just an old school bakery probably situated around some corner of Tiong Bahru estate but it’s not.

20120916-194102.jpg

20120916-194112.jpg

20120916-194125.jpg

It’s opened by a french baker Gontran Cherrier. Never heard of him before but when I tried googling for his name, he sounds amazing! But my god, the croissants were damn good.

I’m not biased because for one, I don’t like croissants. I didn’t like the greasy feel of croissants. They were just not my kind. But these are awesome. There are non greasy, buttery, flaky and crispy. The folds were ultra cute too.

20120916-194037.jpg

20120916-194048.jpg

Besides these, they have awesome breads! The salted butter caramel roll was good too.

The sandwiches were good! Love the bread! They look hard but they are awesome soft inside.

I couldn’t keep my eyes off the display of desserts too. The tarts and cakes were gorgeous! It’s my dream to open a bakery cafe just like this! The interior was very simple, just simple furniture. Nothing fancy. Just my kind of place. Simple rustic.

Just me, my music, a good book, a nice croissant and a nice cuppa coffee/tea.

20120916-194152.jpg

20120916-194138.jpg

Leave a Reply

