really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

661: These strange times

4 years and 11 days on, I’ve decided to revive this little space of mine, hidden in this strange dark closet for way too long. Now 33, and no longer that very extremely emo 20-something, wrecked by broken trust, full of self-doubt, and plagued with worries.

And have you taken the time today to ask a friend, a loved one, a colleague, an acquaintance, a stranger, how their day has been today?

It doesn’t have to be a long phone-call conversation, or a long email. It can be just a friendly buzz or a text. Or even sharing a cute image of a fat cat (that is assuming that he/she is into fat cats) or a laughable meme on instagram.

“Friend, I thought of you today. How has your day/week been?”

I just think it’s a really nice feeling to feel important to someone for just that tiny while. It doesn’t have to be a long 30-minute call. It can be just a short 1-minute conversation on Whatsapp.

“There are people in the world who think only about themselves. They don’t care what happens to other people so long as they get what they want. They put other people down to me themselves feel important. “Then there are people who do the opposite, who are able to imagine how others must feel, and make sure that they don’t do things that hurt people. “So,” she said, looking me squarely in the eye. “Which kind of person do you want to be?”
― Barack Obama, A Promised Land

With the ongoing COVID situation in Singapore right now, where WFH and HBL have become the default, I’m pretty sure there exists people from the two extremes i.e. those who hate the thought of it, and those who don’t. Businesses are affected, the quiet malls, hawkers, eateries – a rather sad lonely sight (though I must say I really enjoy my quiet peaceful bus/MRT rides.) Hawkers sitting with their food nicely laid out and prettily lit, waiting for non-existent customers to come by. I’m pretty sure with the current ‘pandemic’ inducing a considerable degree of fear, worry, stress and concern, it is probably taking a HUGE toll on mental health.

How about taking some time today (5 minutes?) to ask a friend, a loved one, a colleague, an acquaintance, a stranger, how their day has been today ?

Hi friend, how has your day been?

I’m so tired, so tired of life.

It’s okay, i’m here.

Leave a comment