really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

662: So are you ready?

So I’ve been in a relationship, for the last 2 years and 3 months (though close to 3 years since we’ve known one another) with someone. V is a really great guy, funny, kind, attentive to detail- being around him just made me feel safe and secure. I look forward to weekends when I get to see him, and I still get that fluttery feeling when he slips his hand into mine.

And so the parents, uncle, aunt, sister, and even the niece have been pressuring me into marriage.

Yiyi, when are you getting married?” >.<

And just last Sunday, when I shared that little part of me I thought he knew. So truth be told – me and the then ex had applied for a BTO just close to a year after dating. And because I felt that there was no longer any love in our relationship (and the cheating yadah-yadah happened as well), it was pointless trying to rebuilt all that trust. So I made the move to break up, and we had to give up the house. Obviously, any sound person would think twice about giving up all the money that was locked into the BTO. But to me, it was pointless if that was how I was going to live my life for the next many decades, being with someone I find it so hard to love anymore. I was not ready to settle for this, for anybody, for anything. There was just no more love anymore. Looking back, it was probably one of the best decisions of my life. Ever.

So back to V – he’s great, really. Do you sometimes feel as if someone was just meant for you? I don’t know if anybody else believes in soulmates. But somehow, deep within me, I know he is the one for me. He makes me happy even in the littlest of ways. He is absolutely sweet and so dear.

So the other day after that disclosure, he casually asked, “So are you ready?”

Wished I could say – I am. You will sometimes, never ever be ready for anything, for anything life throws at you. But with you, I am ready. So long as you are by me, supporting me in my every decision.

I have never been so sure, about someone.

Leave a comment