really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

Archive for April 18, 2011

345: Make You Feel My Love

By Bob Dylan (Also by Adele)

When the rain
Is blowing in your face
And the whole world
Is on your case
I could offer you
A warm embrace
To make you feel my love

When the evening shadows
And the stars appear
And there is no one there
To dry your tears
I could hold you
For a million years
To make you feel my love

I know you
Haven’t made
Your mind up yet
But I would never
Do you wrong
I’ve known it
From the moment
That we met
No doubt in my mind
Where you belong

I’d go hungry
I’d go black and blue
I’d go crawling
Down the avenue
No, there’s nothing
That I wouldn’t do
To make you feel my love

The storms are raging
On the rolling sea
And on the highway of regret
Though winds of change
Are throwing wild and free
You ain’t seen nothing
Like me yet

I could make you happy
Make your dreams come true
Nothing that I wouldn’t do
Go to the ends
Of the Earth for you
To make you feel my love

This is such a beautiful and dreamy song. My current earworm! Love the version sung by Adele. She has a really great voice!

Adele’s “Make You Feel My Love”
And I found a Youtube cover of “Make You Feel My Love”. This version is really good as well! I love the guitar and the vocals!

344: Books, Brains, Food

It’s the last intensive mugging week leading up to the exams. As I rack my brains and dive through the books and the notes, the food (the energy for my brains) is merely simple convenient easy-to-put-together meals.

Lunch was a simple lean ground beef spaghetti bolognese.


343: To-Bake List

I want to:

1) Bake condensed milk pound cake, again (I’m sorry but I cannot resist).

2) Bake “everything” cookies. Baked “everything” cookies based on an awesome recipe from Foodgawker for a friend just today. The secret ingredient was the cinammon and the overload of ingredients (think roasted hazelnuts, cranberries, raisins, sunflower seeds, mixed nuts muesli). Just so divine because the smell while the cookies were in the oven was just crazily amazing!

3) Bake a french apple tart. This has been on my to-bake list for ages since the day I acquired a metal tart tin. I’m going to make one soon.

4) Bake a tofu (bean curd) cheesecake.

5) Bake some awesomely fudgey chewy chocolatey brownies (with roasted hazelnuts or walnuts or almonds).

It’s the week before the exams, the week I have to push on before I conquer the final exams of university. It’s home home home home for the next 11 days before I officially break for the holidays! And the holidays means more time for baking and a short getaway (I’m hoping Macau and Hong Kong but nothing’s for certain now since we haven’t gotten down to booking it yet) and plenty of shopping and tea. Got to enjoy the last 6 weeks before work commences and that would be possibly hellish! Oh wells, for now, the exams! I can do it. You can do it, Rina (: FIGHTING!


342: Cedele (Rail Mall)

Cedele, is by far my favourite dining place! I’m so in love with the food at Cedele! Fell crazily in love with Cedele from the very first mouth I bit into my Beetroot Avocado burger. The other good reason is that there’s a branch that’s only a 5 minutes’ walk from my place.

Met up with a few of my friends just last Friday for Cedele. The friends are all Cedele converts too! We ordered a few dishes to share. We had the grilled vegetables chutney sandwich on a rustic white with sesame bread and a mushroom overload burger on golden pumpkin bread. We had pumpkin soup and boston clam chowder to share, along with free flow of bread. And something sweet to end off, we had the famed Cedele carrot walnut cake.

Didn’t take much pictures because we are all too hungry and filling our tummies was the primary objective!

I wanted to try the other vegetarian alternative sandwich, which is the grilled vegetables chutney sandwich. I have ALWAYS (yes, every single visit!) been ordering my good old boring Beetroot Avocado sandwich only because it’s so delicious and just SO SO SO good. Decided to try the grilled vegetables chutney sandwich and it was good. The grilled vegetables were so sweet, love the red capsicum and the pumpkin! Think what’s so special about Cedele is the spices they use in their food, the chutney used in the sandwich made the entire do-up very unique. But well, this was a good vegetarian alternative! But give me my Beetroot Avocado sandwich ANYTIME!

And we had the yummy carrot walnut cake. It was as usual, good. There were so many beautiful cakes in the little cake refrigerator. I was particularly extracted to the Pink Beet Cake for the most obvious reason. BEET, BEETROOT! (: It’s adorably pink with beet strips, I think. I read some reviews online and realised that it’s kind of like the red beet/beetroot version of carrot cake. How adorable! I’m going to try that the next time round. And yes, the chocolate pistachio cake was tempting too, I read that the layers are flourless. I love flourless cakes (think fluffed up egg whites and spongey layers, woohoo).

And how could I resist the breads and pastries? Bought 3 home! And I had this for breakfast on Saturday morning. I just popped the Orange Cranberry Hot Cross Bun into the microwave for 30 seconds and tah-dah, delicious breakfast. It was not too bad, Easter’s near so hot cross buns are popping out like Easter bunnies.

And yes, I love my scones. I love scones. I LOVE SCONES. Need I say enough? I tried the cranberry scone the last time, I think. Decided to get the Orange Blueberry scone and this was breakfast for Sunday (which is today). Again, I just popped the scone in the microwave for 40 seconds and tah-tah, moist soft fluffy scone for breakfast. And that’s not it yet. I spread a layer of orange marmalade between the scone and the warm scone will heat up the preserve and the fusion is just divine! The warm scone and the orange marmalade were terrific together! So good (:

I bought a small roll of my favourite organic wholewheat raisin walnut bread. I need to find an opportunity to eat it too. Breakfast for Monday?