really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

Archive for March 16, 2011

326: Orange Butter Almond Muffins

I’m finally going to blog about my orange butter almond muffins sitting in those pretty pink polka-dotted muffin/souffle cups! OH gosh, I am so in love with those cute dainty pink polka dots!  Was quite exasperated trying to upload images on WordPress that I gave up in the end. So here I am, back again!

These muffins were lovely! All I wish for in a muffin. I like my muffins dense, with a lovely orange taste (from the rinds) and a ‘hard’ lovingly browned crispy exterior (top hat!).

I gave half of what I baked to my aunt and cousins and as for the rest, I brought to school to share with friends! Baking is all about sharing. I like to give away (often the bulk!) of what I baked to people I care about. I hope they feel the ‘love’ while they’re tucking into those delectable goodies!

Got the recipe from one of my favourite local baking blogs here. I adapted the recipe by including the rinds from 2 oranges and some almond slivers to grace the top of the muffin. By the way, it’s actually a recipe for “orange butter cupcakes” but I thought it wasn’t as light as a cupcake should be. Typically I thought cupcakes need more eggs in their recipes to fluff the batter up! It was more a muffin to me.

Ingredients (makes 12) :

175g butter, softened

3/4 cup caster sugar

1 1/2 cup plain flour

3 eggs

2 tsps baking powder

finely grated rind of 2 orange

2 tsps orange juice
directions :

1) place butter, caster sugar and grated orange rind in a mixing bowl and whisk mixture until light and fluffy.

2) add in eggs, one at a time and whisk until well combined between each addition.

3) sift together flour and baking powder over the butter mixture then fold in lightly using a metal spoon. add in orange juice and mix well.

4) spoon mixture into muffin cases until about 3/4 full and bake in a preheated oven of 160 deg c for 25 mins until skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.

5) let cool completely before frosting or storing.


325: My Happy Spaghetti Bolognese!

Cooked us some spaghetti bolognese today cause’ there was still a pack of frozen lean ground beef lying in the freezer. With plenty of chopped onions! I think the key to a really good bolognese sauce is to have plenty of chopped onions, the lean beef (the more the merrier but not too much that it overwhelms too) and plenty of oregano flakes!

Looks like a all protein and carbo but no greens meal right?

But no! The greens (boiled broccoli) make the whole dish a whole lot prettier! Balanced diet 🙂 Yumms