really random posts about food, eating well and healthy, my life, chocolates and dramas!

194: One Day Visit to Melaka

Took a 3 hour bus journey yesterday to Melaka for a one-day school industrial fieldtrip. It was quite fun, a short get-away and I managed to catch up with some friends, whom I usually have no chance/time to interact with during busy schooldays.

The best part of the one day Melaka trip is the FOOD!

We had lunch at this rather famous Nonya food restaurant, Restoran Ole Sayang. I googled it on the net and discovered that it’s a pretty famous restaurant in Melaka. Quite a few bloggers also reviewed this restaurant before. The restaurant is pretty cozy, with Perenakan elements in the simple interior decor. It gave me a very homely feel. The food was really good! I didn’t managed to capture all the dishes but took a macroview of the dishes.

The dish I had the most impression was this prawns dish with assam(?) gravy. The gravy wasn’t viscous, it was watery and had the texture of curry. But it just wasn’t curry, it was like lontong gravy. I could tell that there was dried shrimps (hae bee) in the gravy and I really liked it a lot. It was a little sour too. The friends were saying that it’s assam. I’m not exactly sure what I was eating but it did taste really good!

The tahu telur was good too. The chilli on the fish was yummy too. The food was just really good!

And I love the chendol too. The terrible weather outside was just killing me. The chendol was like a lifesaver in this mad weather! Somehow, it tastes really good, different from what we have in Singapore. Much yummier!

I’ll be back in Melaka next Sunday for a 3D2N getaway with the family. I’m hoping that we’ll be able to try this restaurant again. And that is if we can find our way there and the family is willing to explore.

Bought some Portuguese egg tarts home for the family. But they were not as nice as those I’ve had years ago cause I bought these at a convenient bakery in the shopping mall we went to. Will need to hunt down for the nice ones I had years ago when I return next week.

Dropped by San Shu Gong (三叔公) and picked up some Melaka/Malacca delicacies. Bought a box of tau sar piah (green bean pastries), beh teh soh (马蹄酥) and 2 packets of peanut and taro/yam cookies with coriander leaves. This is the yam cookies with coriander leaves! I love these (:

Doesn’t Pumpkin look like a shark here? SUPER ADORABLE.

Edit: I realised that the dish I was raving about is called “Udang Masak Lemak Nenas” or Pineapple Prawn in Spicy Coconut Milk Gravy, it’s apparently one of the signature Melaka Nyonya dishes. Found a recipe by Nyonya Pendek Melaka featured in this website -> here.

Leave a comment